The Royal Canadian Mint.—The Ottawa Mint, established as a branch of the Royal Mint under the (Imperial) Coinage Act, 1870, and opened on Jan.2, 1908, was, by 21-22 Geo. V, c. 48, constituted a branch of the Department of Finance, and by the Proclamation of Nov. 14, 1931, issued under Section 3 of that Act, it has since Dec. 1, 1931, operated as the Royal Canadian Mint. At first the British North American provinces, and later the Dominion of Canada, obtained their coins from the Royal Mint in London or from The Mint, Birmingham, Ltd., and in its earlier years the operations of the Mint in Canada were confined to the production of gold, silver and bronze coins for domestic circulation, of British sovereigns, and of small coinages struck under contract for Newfoundland and Jamaica. to 1914 small quantities of gold bullion were refined, but during the War the Mint came to the assistance of the British Government by establishing a refinery in which nearly twenty million ounces of South African gold were treated on account of the Bank of England, and the subsequent great development of the gold-mining industry in Canada has resulted in gold-refining becoming one of the principal activities of the Mint. Gold coins have never been a popular medium of exchange in Canada and have not been struck since 1919, most of the fine gold produced from the rough shipments from the mines being delivered to the Department of Finance in the form of bars worth approximately \$8,300 each, the rest being sold in a convenient form to manufacturers. The fine silver extracted from the rough gold, when not required for coinage, is sold in New York or disposed of to local manufacturing firms.

The domestic currency of Canada, as at present authorized by the Currency Act, consists of: \$20, \$10, \$5 and \$2½ gold pieces, 900 millesimal fineness (only \$10 and \$5 pieces have been issued); of \$1, 50-cent, 25-cent and 10-cent silver pieces, 800 millesimal fineness; of 5-cent pieces of pure nickel (from metal produced in Canada); and of 1-cent pieces in bronze. The silver 5-cent piece is still legal tender but its coinage was discontinued in 1921; the silver dollar was never coined until 1935, when, by Royal Proclamation of Apr. 12, the design of the new Jubilee Silver Dollar was set out. The proclamation went into operation on May 1, 1935.

Gold.—Gold is used only to an insignificant extent as a circulating medium in Canada, its monetary use being practically confined to reserves, but \$5 and \$10 gold pieces weighing respectively 129 and 258 grains, 9-10ths pure gold by weight, have been coined, the Canadian gold dollar thus containing 23·22 grains of pure gold. These coins were first issued in 1912, authority to issue them having been conferred in 1910. By the Currency Act, 1910 (9-10 Edw. VII, c. 14), British sovereigns, which are legal tender for \$4.86\frac{2}{3}\$, and other gold coins, and the \$5, \$10 and \$20 gold coins of the United States, which contain exactly the same weight of gold as Canadian gold coins of these denominations, are also legal tender. These, however, were almost entirely divided between the Dominion Government and the banks as reserves, and the chief circulating medium of the country is provided by paper and token currency. On the establishment of the Bank of Canada, the chartered banks transferred their holdings of gold in Canada to this institution.

Table 1, compiled by the Master of the Royal Canadian Mint, shows the value of the gold bullion received for treatment at the Ottawa Mint since its foundation, together with the gold coin and bullion issued. A statement of the gold, silver, nickel and bronze coinages issued to the separate provinces and to the Dominion of Canada since 1858 is published as Table 2. Table 3, compiled by the Dominion Comptroller of Currency, gives the form in which the gold has been held by the Government in recent years.